Recycling Committee

recycling clear sign

Single-Stream Recycling Information in Detail

ESTABLISHED: The City of Lewiston’s Recycling Committee was established by vote of the City Council on July 16, 2019.  

MEETINGS: It meets every Wednesday from 6:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. at Lewiston Public Works, 103 Adams Avenue (Link to Agendas and Minutes Below). Due to COVID-19, meetings are held remotely.  If you want to participate please contact Megan Bates at 513-3003 at  extension 3440.

MEMBERS: Members whose terms shall expire on June 30, 2020, are: John Farina, Julie McCabe, Sean Monteith, Joshua Nagine, Helen Price-Wharff, and Paul Robinson.  Councilor Representative for the RWRC is Luke Jensen.

PURPOSE: The purpose of the Committee shall be to:

1)  Gather and review existing data and studies relating to Lewiston’s current recycling program;

2)  Evaluate the effectiveness of the current program;

3)  Identify the barriers that negatively impact more widespread participation in the City’s recycling efforts;

4)  Develop recommendations to increase the CIty’s current recycling rate in an effort to meet the State goal of 50%, including proposals to address enhanced public information and education;

5)  Develop recommendations on other steps that the City might take to reduce the generation of solid waste and reduce the amount of material landfilled or incinerated; and

6)  Develop estimates of the cost to implement those recommendations and proposals.

CONTACT PERSON: The Director of Public Works or designee shall be responsible for providing staff support to the Committee. Currently assigned in that role is Deputy Public Works Director Megan Bates:  - (207) 513-3000, X3440.